The Annual Meeting of the Center for Copper and Mining Studies (CESCO) was held on June 24th. In the occasion, the board of directors of this private non-profit institution was renewed. The table was formed by its president Leopoldo Reyes, Jorge Bande, José Joaquín Jara, Iván Valenzuela, and Marcelo Olivares, along with the three new directors:

Daniela Desormeaux, Willy Kracht, and Osvaldo Urzúa, who will replace Felipe Azócar, Nicolás Fuster and Arturo Prieto. 

Alejandra Wood, Cesco’s Executive Director, said that “we are happy with the work carried out during 2018, since we are advancing in different initiatives such as the creation of working tables to reflect on issues such as opportunities for improvements to the mining rights system and mineral processing, among others. We had an excellent call in Cesco Week Santiago 2018 and Asia Copper Week Shanghai 2018, meetings that have been established at a global level, and we developed different projects, among which I highlight the book “Mining for Value, Industry Leaders disclose lessons learned from the supercycle”, developed together with Spencer Stuart. 

Wood added that “the essence of our work allows us to collaborate so that Chile continues to be a benchmark in mining and strengthen ties with the global industry”.

Who are the new directors of Cesco

Daniela Desormeaux

Economist graduated from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile with 18 years of experience in the industry of natural resources. Experience working for the Chilean Construction Chamber and SQM.
In late 2009, she founded signumBOX Market Intelligence, a consulting company providing market intelligence services on mining.
In 2014 she was appointed by President Michele Bachelet to join the Presidential Commission for Lithium.
In 2016 she was granted the 100 Mujeres Líderes award / 100 Women in Leadership conferred by El Mercurio and Mujeres Empresarias / Business Women and, in 2017, she was granted the Scotiabank Leadership award for innovation in the context of the Executive Woman of 2017 award.
Daniela permanently participates as a lecturer in mining events, both national and international and, as an incumbent professor (Macroeconomics in University of Development MBA).

Willy Kracht:

Head of the Department of Mining Engineering at Universidad de Chile. Member of the Editorial Board of the journal Minerals Engineering. 

Leader of the Research Line Geo-mining-metallurgical processes, at the Advanced Mining Technology Center (AMTC), and associate researcher at the Solar Energy Research Center (SERC-Chile). 

He teaches at undergraduate and graduate level in the courses: Minerals Processing Engineering; Analysis and Simulation of Mineral Processes; Automation and Process Control. As a researcher, his areas of interest are mineral processing, process modeling, geometallurgy, and integration of renewable energies into mining and mineral processes.

Osvaldo Urzúa:

Industrial Engineer from the University of Chile and Ph.D. in Science and Technology Policy from SPRU (Science Policy Research Unit), University of Sussex, United Kingdom. He holds an MSc in Engineering from the Universidad de Chile and an MBA from ESADE, Barcelona, Spain. He has over 25 years of experience in the development and implementation of policies and programs for productive development, innovation and creation of economic, social and environmental value in mining and energy, both in the public and private sectors nationally and internationally. He is currently an independent consultant.

He worked at BHP for more than 11 years and held positions in the Chilean government.

Daniela Desormeaux
Willy Kracht
Osvaldo Urzúa